Does a photograph really define a Moment ???


A picture is worth thousand words-
But today when i looked back at those pictures , i really questioned myself ,
Is it ? Does capturing a moment really holds That feeling , that was to be preserved …

Those pictures  elicited a certain kind of response as I was viewing them, a message on the eyes….
As I reviews the photos, though, I realized something. I made a conscious decision in each of these moments to temporarily remove myself from absorbing the experience to stand behind a machine that can capture the moment such that I can share it with others.

The only thing that could capture this experience while simultaneously allowing one to live it is the brain, and like all things, its limitation is that it cannot be easily reproduced for others to enjoy.

Every pic had a story to tell , a memory to cherish , the feeling to behold …..
And it s like a series of incidents that you tried to hold on as long as you could , in a way pausing the life ….

This paradox between living and capturing seems to exist all over the place. And Often times I wonder whether I should really capture it at all versus work to experience it more fully and then have the story to tell.~

I do love looking back at the photos I’ve taken ,And I’ll probably continue to go back and forth as life comes at me, having something to show for what I experience some of the time, and something to tell for all of the rest.

Quote of the day :
In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it. – Emile Zola

2 thoughts on “Does a photograph really define a Moment ???

  1. I love your thoughts. Eiher way -we’d “capture it all or work to experience it more fully and then have the story to tell – there’ll still be a story to tell – the beautiful part🙂 Every photograph defines a moment – that exact moment in life that cannot me “repeated”.
    Have a great week ahead, Shammee!

    • Yeah fair point made , either way a photograph would always be the permanent stamp of those memories & times which can not be re-lived .
      Thanks for such a beautiful response & I am really glad you love reading my posts …🙂

Leave a Reply

