Don’t Ask Me …… my graduation plans ~

Graduation plans , funny question

 

Which job are you applying for ? Are you going to do the masters ? Do you really think you are made for this field ? Have you decided which course you are gonna choose ?

Whether its a neighbor, professor, family friend or stranger I’ve just met, the first question that just rolls out is, what exactly I want to do once I finish college. While I am still processing that thought myself, I’m still not certain. I’m not one of the well-prepared students who already have a job lined up with Google , and placements are working out too good for them.

It’s pretty obvious people ask this questions , Its not their fault , But I am the one who suffers , so I have right to say , plz stop bombarding me with those questions , you would see in future whatever ,I would decide , & it won’t affect you , I am the only one whose life ‘s gonna be changed (ofcourse my family is included) , but the rest of the society should just lay back & let me figure out.

Here I am trying to strike a balance between pursuing my interests and ensuring employability  when it comes to career choice. Either extreme can potentially burn out a person both as a student and as a job seeker.But till far it goes , I am way behind.

All I did discover is that there are mainly two types of career categories : (1)those that provide knowledge and skills that prepare one to enter a number of different jobs and (2)those that provide knowledge, skills, and training for entrance into a specific career field.

As I am not sure of specific field , I think the second option rules out for me , so I am left with the first one, So now that again opens up a very general field , to list down to…..I’ll have to be open to various fields anyway as the The New York Times reported that unemployment rate for 20- to 24-year-olds was 13.2 percent in April , so This next year will involve me internally panicking as I struggle to decide where to send my resumes.

I really wish I could get to some definite point soon , or this whole confusing ideas of what my career is gonna be, would suck the life out of me, its pretty exhausting .With all this expected self-inflicted stress, it would be nice to not have any added pressure from outsiders.

This is my time to explore what I wanna pursue in my life , & I would really like to be able to use this last year to decide what exactly that is. So please refrain from asking me what my plans are after graduation — my anxiety level and I would both appreciate it.

Thought of the day :

“The biggest mistake that you can make is to believe that you are working for somebody else. Job security is gone. The driving force of a career must come from the individual. Remember: Jobs are owned by the company, you own your career! ”
~Earl Nightingale

2 thoughts on “Don’t Ask Me …… my graduation plans ~

  1. Hey i understand your dilemma. But putting your frustration over here wont prevent ppl frm popping up these questions…
    so its better to have a prepared, structured answer that will zero the possibility of subsequent questions, until you figure it all out!! A temporary relief😉

    • lolz..yeah i know that talking it out loud won’t solve anything … but hey atleast there ‘s one place to express😀
      so u r suggesting a hypothetical answer , well dt trick didnt worked out very well
      people got more into details 😉

Leave a Reply

