The grief of losing someone forever ….

Losing someone

 

“My Life is perfect , Luck is in my Favor  , What more could I ask from God …” my friend said.

“I am so happy for you buddy , When shall we celebrate your new victories ?? I am eagerly waiting for  the party….” I said to him.

I rememer that evening stil so clearly , having this talk with my friend over the phone. I was watching moon playing hide & seek with clouds from my window , while my mom was calling me for dinner ,since half past hour.

I never imagined anything could go wrong in our lives , we were feeling too blissful , for that thought to cross our minds.But no one can predict such things , & somehow tragedy alwasys hits you when you are floating in your happiness.

The same thing happened with my friend , he lost someone too dear to him,&  his life is altered forever.

For a moment I was too shock to react, my mind couldn’t accept what it was hearing . Later that night I sat on my laptop scanning whatsapp, reading friends messages of what happened , how is the situation ,
I just sat in shock…. Trying to digest all those little facts & information . They are talking about this person,the person who is one of my closest friend …..he has been hurt.Therefore, I hurt.

How does one cope with such tragedy? How to fill that hole in your life?How to make the pain of losing somone go? How to accept the fact that person is never coming back?

Some wounds leave such deep scars imprinted , that can never be fully healed.Coz the absence of someone you grew to love, learned from, and got used to being there is something that takes time to adjust to.

“’You’ll get over it…’ It’s the clichés that cause the trouble. To lose someone you love is to alter your life for ever. You don’t get over it because ‘it’ is the person you loved. The pain stops, there are new people, but the gap never closes. How could it? The particularness of someone who mattered enough to grieve over is not erased by anyone but death.

I don’t know what to think , so Deciding to trust in a loving God is the only way I can think of to deal with … even in the midst of a horrible tragedy … keeps me anchored.  Anchored doesn’t mean you don’t weep.  Anchored doesn’t mean it hurts less. Anchored doesn’t mean your heart sinks with every new bit of information about the incident. Anchored just means holding fast to the truth … despite all those things.

My heart is sad But My faith is strong.And this is what I am going to lend it to my friend. He still has loving family & loyal friends, who care for him, & will always be by his side. And with time the memories will have a different effect than it has right now.

 

2 thoughts on “The grief of losing someone forever ….

  1. It is a very sad day when we lose important people in our lives. It goes to show how connected we were to that person. This is particularly true when the person’s death is untimely, unexpected, or too soon. Too young. But, none of these are in our control. We can only hang on to good memories of having been blessed to know them.

Leave a comment